Important Announcement: Malicious Site Mimicking Lijit.com

ANNOUNCEMENT: Recently, it came to our attention there has been a malicious site that may be attempting to mimic Lijit.com and collect publisher login information.

We have contacted the Domain Registrars as well as the appropriate authorities as a precautionary measure. We will be sending this update to each of our publishers via e-mail and once the issue has been resolved, we will post an update.

These screenshots are from the malicious site – this site is NOT www.Lijit.com – Please do NOT give this site your username or password.

We want everyone to be assured, there is no action needed on your part – this is just a precautionary note to keep you informed as we believe in transparency and taking care of our publisher network.

If you have any questions or see suspicious activity, please send us an email at feedback@lijit.com.

Regards,

The Lijit Team

  • jagath
    hi everyone
    i had lijit search installed in my blog for past 8 months..my earning reached 25 dollars last week
    but form that time i dint get any ads showing in my site and my stats tab doent update the clicks
    i have sent 5 mails to support@lijit.com..but still dint get any mail or reply or my payment which i have request before 20 of may.. so im post it as a comment here
  • @Jagath Can you please send another email to support@lijit.com and include your username so we can double check your Lijit profile and account?

    In addition, when you request payment you won't receive payment until the end of the month (the 28th). If you request before the 20th of the month, you will receive it at the end of that month. This is all available in our Ad FAQ: http://www.lijit.com/help/pub-...
  • really nice sharing thanks
  • yongs
    Thanks for your warning.I will check and see ....
  • owh man... thanks for the info... better keep in mind that this dude is damn crazy...!
  • thanks for notifying this serious threat
  • Hi Grace Boyle,

    Thanks for your warning. Usually I will check the URL of the site then only login to any panel. Not only in address bar, I will also check the hyperlink in status bar.

    Try to catch them and punish them.

    By my analysis:
    They are having hosting at ThePlanet.com . You can contact ThePlanet.com guys about this issue. They will respond immediately and ban the user. That site's IP is :74.54.132.2

    Also you can catch them by contacting Adbrite guys. They are using Adbrite ads in that site: Check this URL: adbrite.com/mb/commerce/purcha...

    and they are having another site called howtogetfreexboxlive.com. I got this site from their Adbrite rate card page.

    Hope I shared useful information with you.
  • @Albert This is a great list and thanking for doing a little background research. Our team has been on it this issue as soon as we found out and will be sure to provide everyone with an update. I also sent along your feedback, as well. Thanks again, Albert!
  • jon knight
    Thanks for the warning. You guys rock.
  • @Jon Thanks for the feedback, Jon! Means a lot to us.
  • sebastian
    Thank you, Grace!
  • @Sebastian You're welcome and thanks for checking out the announcement.
  • cinzia
    Thanks for the heads up!
  • @Cinzia You're welcome!
  • Thanks for the heads up! I'm usually pretty careful about where I go and where I enter my info.
  • @Taubin You have the right idea! In our minds, you can never be too careful and we have a lot of publishers to protect so we wanted to alert everyone as soon as we found out.
  • Thanks for the heads-up, Grace - messing with my beloved Lijit indeed. Want me to get the bat ready? ;-)
  • @Danny We love that you've got our back, Danny! We've got yours too, we promise :) Thanks for the support as always.
  • Thanks for the heads up. That's why I use LastPass :)
  • @DarkUFO Andy, of course! We always want to be transparent and clear with our publisher network. I have heard of LastPass, it's a great service thanks for passing it along.
blog comments powered by Disqus

The Second Click